A REALLY GOOD DAY

The following is my idea of the perfect day…

“And there will be signs in the sun, in the moon, and in the stars, and on the earth distress of nations, with perplexity, the sea and the waves roaring; men’s hearts failing them from fear and the expectation of those things which are coming on the earth, for the powers of the heavens will be shaken. Then they will see the Son of Man coming in a cloud with power and great glory. Now when these things begin to happen, look up and lift up your heads, because your redemption draws near.” (Luke 21:25-28) 

I Refuse to Regret

This is my favorite verse in the entire Bible. I get butterflies and goosebumps every time I read it. It thrills and stabilizes my heart to cast my vision on the Day of Jesus’ return to the planet. I have determined in my heart that I will commit myself to live in such a way that will cause this day to be the happiest day of my life. In other words, I refuse to live in such a way that would cause the advent of this Day to strike fear, uncertainty, or regret in my heart. When He splits the sky, I want to absolutely melt with joy and confidence, not sorrow or regret. I want to be on His team. 

I Refuse to Regress

Many difficult and shocking things are going to happen on the earth in the years to come. Christians will be hated by every nation and persecuted for their faith. Many of our loved ones will be killed. Many of us will be killed. Nuclear war is going to happen. Murder, theft, sorcery and immorality will rise to a sickening level. But something far, far worse is coming for those who reject God. He is returning to planet Earth to judge the living and the dead. Knowing that He is coming to judge evil and establish His Kingdom gives me courage to resist the temptation to submit to the fear and demands of evil men. I’d rather be persecuted by men than by God.

I Refuse to Relax

Living for this Day begins now. It is folly to think we can choose to be offended now when someone overlooks or mistreats us and yet be unoffended when terrorists murder thousands of Americans in a single day in the future. If we do not fight to be humble and tender now, in the smallest things, it will be impossible for us to respond with humility and trust when the bigger things hit us. And they will. In that day, we can’t fake humility. We can’t fake trust. We can’t fake gratitude. It begins now – and it is absolutely crucial.

I Refuse to Recant

We cannot afford to be offended. When we choose to take offense, we begin to make decisions that compromise our eternal destiny. Make no mistake about it, there will be a great falling away. The love of many will grow cold. It begins with a sense of entitlement, a list of demands in the heart that God never promised us nor that are good for us. The pursuit of the American Dream is not sacred. It is a standard we have invented and it deceives us into thinking we have rights. The only thing we really deserve is hell. That is our only right. When we forget that, we become offended at anything that takes that dream away from us. This mindset is pride and it sets us up for the biggest falling away. Let us today examine our hearts, eradicate that which is not aligned with His Word, and choose meekness. Choose to fall on the Stone and be broken, or it will fall on you and crush you to powder.

I Refuse to Resist

The good news is that it is do-able. If we commit our hearts today to respond in meekness, we begin to sow good seed. We take it one day at a time, one circumstance at a time, one decision at a time. The Lord is faithful to complete the good thing He has started in us. I want to agree with the circumstances that He gives me that are designed to form meekness in me. I do not want to resist the work of the Holy Spirit in my inner man. In that Day, we will bear the fruit of meekness, and by it, we will possess our souls. He wants the day of His return to be the best day of our lives, too. He greatly desires that none of us would be ashamed at His coming. He is kind in that He presents many opportunities for us to choose meekness now so that we will be ready on that Day. He presents many opportunities for us to choose greatness. Let’s say “yes.”

  1. One of the great things that I appreciate that is coming out of the IHOP world is the idea that we can go full bore into this end times stuff and come out victorious on the other end.

    I was raised on these weird rapture movies where people were spending their time living in caves and running away from the antichrist and his creepy guillotine and his white 70’s vans. The ones who already knew God got raptured at the beginning of the movie and their clothes would be “left behind”.

    I rejected the pre-trib doctrine for its impracticality in the mid 90’s but still wondered how we would get through the tough times to come. I appreciate you guys leading the charge with an uplifting view and setting the example of paying for it now via the fasted lifestyle concept. CBB

  2. Phew…uh…yeah…

    er…maybe more like … Yeah! Or even Yee-aah!

    Yes, I’m afraid this is as intellegent a responceas I can muster right now.

  3. Retroman – I want to see that movie! What’s it called? Sounds like premium entertainment.

    Idhrendur – Your response is perfect!

  4. I think I’ve seen that movie. Or something quite similar. In the one I saw, the guillotine worked over the internet. It was weird.

    I think most Christian movies need some serious MST3K treatment, in any case. Ones dealing with the end times most of all, I’m sure.

  5. Robin

    You better preach!!

    It’s funny. Some friends and I were sitting around a table tonight discussing pre-trib and post-trib and looking at the Scriptures in light of what IHOP teaches. We were discussing the possible orgins for the different theories and noting how Jesus points directly to His coming being after the tribulation and then Paul being very specific about the order of events and I know I was wondering how I ever believed pre-trib.

    We were just expressing how much it matters to know the truth because it causes you to live differently. I love it when God says the same thing through different people, places, and times. He’s so awesome!

  6. Idhrendur – a guillotine over the internet? I must see this. And, I’ll take your word that we need it, but what is MST3K?

    Robin – I think a lot of people believe pre-trib because it’s what they are taught and they don’t really study it out themselves. I never had any end-times teaching before I came to IHOP. I thought when we died we would go up to heaven and be there forever. I didn’t know anything about the Antichrist or the great tribulation. It’s sad to know that so many Christians don’t know or believe the truth. And yes, He is so awesome!

  7. You’ve never seen “A Thief in the Night?” or “Image of the Beast”. Premium, indeed. There was a hardcore Baptist dude who was CIA (Cleve Institute of Art) and he knew of a Bible bookstore in Euclid that would rent such movies. So we had very entertaining Friday nights. This guy was so hardcore I called him “Mark the Baptist” because his name was/is Mark. CBB

  8. Retroman – thanks! I’ll look for these!

  9. MST3K = Mystery Science Theater 3000. It was a TV show where they watched really bad movies and made fun of them the whole way through. You can rent or buy episodes on DVD. If you can get some people together to watch, I highly reccomend “The Brain that Wouldn’t Die,” “Santa Clause vs the Martians,” and if you’re really feeling up for the ultimate bad movie, “Manos, the Hands of Fate.” It’s hilarious!

  10. Oh, yes! I know about Mystery Science Theatre – I guess I’ve never heard the acronym for it! Pretty funny stuff…




Leave a Reply

  • Servin' up mac 'n cheese

    • 56,846 satisfied hits
  • Subscribe Now!

  • Mac My Feed

    macaroni and cheese

  • About

    Love these Links

  • Links

  • who you're checking out today

    • None

