“YOU CAN BE AWESOME, JUST NOT TOMORROW” – EMILY RUSSELL

I love this quote. Actually, it’s more like a ‘near quote’ – I can’t remember precisely what Emily said but it was something like that. This is so encouraging to my heart because it is another reminder that what we sow, we will reap, but it takes time.  Oh the time-taking! It can be frustrating. We want results immediately, but it does not work that way. God set it up this way so that we would have to believe.

The cool thing about faith is that it gets easier with application. The first time the farmer puts a seed into the earth and waits, he wonders if anything will actually grow. But when a plant does come out, the farmer has confindence for the next seed that he plants. The same is true with all of our small, righteous decisions that seem to make no difference. The first time we do it we are sceptical and discouraged. But as we begin to see fruit grow (sometimes months or most likely, years later), we grow bold in our belief that those small acts of faith work.

This is so encouraging because even though it’s sometimes hard to believe that prayer and fasting work, actually praying and fasting is just so easy to do. That is helpful – I think God was on to something when He ascribed strength to the weak things. This means that when I’m overwhelmed, discouraged, weak and distracted, still all I have to do is just fast, pray, forgive, serve and give. I don’t have to do 1,000 push-ups. I don’t have to convince anyone of anything. I don’t have to fight with my own strength. I fight to believe that weakness works, and then I just embrace weakness. How lovely.

So, I keep watering, working, tending to the seeds and young plants in the soil of my heart. It’s so simple and so glorious. It really does work!  Hallelujah!

  1. Philippians 1:9
    And this I pray, that your love may abound still more and more in knowledge and all discernment

  2. Expound, dear Rob. I’d like to know what you’re thinking.

  3. How interesting…this neatly parallels some thoughts I was going to share with some friends…

  4. You changed again! I like it. And now its time for me to share a cheesy quote : “We are into microwaving, God is into marinating.”

  5. Good quote! Cheesy, but true.




Leave a Reply

  • Servin' up mac 'n cheese

    • 56,823 satisfied hits
  • Subscribe Now!

  • Mac My Feed

    macaroni and cheese

  • About

    Love these Links

  • Links

  • who you're checking out today

    • None

